Beebe Woods consists of 383 acres
of land given to the Town of Falmouth by Mr. and Mrs. Josiah
K. Lilly, III in 1972. Although the Woods show no evidence
of colonial dwellings, we can tell by the relative youth of
the trees and by the stone walls, that it provided lumber,
firewood and pasture land to Native Americans and early colonists.
The Woods are a part of larger holdings acquired in the 1870's
by James Beebe, who owned a Boston dry goods business that
later became Jordan Marsh. He was one of the earliest of Falmouth's
summer residents. After the death of the last Beebe son, the
land passed through several owners, and in 1972 was slated
for a 500 home development when J. K. Lilly purchased it for
Beebe Woods hosts an extensive network of walking trails that
cover miles of varied terrain, exploring wooded ridges and
steep-sided hollows, and encircle the picturesque pond know
as the "Punch Bowl" that lies deep within the Woods.
The trails also connect at the southern end of Beebe Woods
to Peterson Farm.
Highfield Hall sponsors a guided
nature walk on the fourth
Tuesday of each month, April - September at 10:30 am.
Directions: (1) Route 28 South past hospital lights to right
on Depot Avenue. Continue over tracks and past Highfield Hall
into parking lot at Cape Cod Conservatory. (2) West on Ter
Heun Drive from Jones Road and Route 28 lights. Past Falmouth
Hospital and Gosnold to parking on left.